Community & Board Recognition Awards

Every year in July, we hold our annual community and board recognition awards event where we celebrate our amazing donors, volunteers, community partners, board members, and staff who have gone above and beyond in support of our mission to empower girls. The 2022 event was held on July 12th in the historical Elks Lodge ballroom.

Thank you to everyone who attended. A big thanks to C’era Una Volta Kitchen & Catering for the wonderful appetizer boxes, Dandelion Flower Shop for the beautiful centerpieces, and Al Wright at Raintree Studios for taking the fabulous photos. View photos from the event.

We are honored and grateful to have such a dedicated and generous group of individuals and businesses that believe strongly in our mission and show up for our girls in so many ways. Thank you and congratulations to all the awardees!

STRONG Partner Award
  • Dee Keltner
  • Elaine Kofman
  • Living On The Go Foundation
  • PwC Charitable Foundation
  • The Panera Bread Foundation
SMART Partner Award
  • Christopher Moody & Ryan LaLonde
  • City of Alameda
  • Donalynne Fuller
  • The Felts Family
  • Frank Martin
  • Gail Soares-Artikaslan
  • Google
  • Honora Murphy
  • Penumbra
  • The Taylor Family Foundation
BOLD Partner Award
  • AAUW-Alameda Branch
  • Adriana Spinner
  • Alameda Welfare Council
  • Alison Taggart-Barone & Larry Barone
  • Anne Kohler
  • Ashley McLaughlin
  • Carolyn Lantz
  • Carolyn Thomas
  • Claudia Page
  • HKIT Architects
  • Housing Authority of the City of Alameda
  • Jackson Square Partners Foundation
  • Jennifer & Henry Bowles
  • JPMorgan Chase
  • Kaiser Permanente
  • Kate McCaffrey
  • Lauren Rosenbaum
  • Luzanne Engh
  • Maggie Derr
  • Matt & Kathy Bliven
  • McGuire and Hester
  • Nadine Barbera
  • Shum Financial Group
  • Susan Powell
  • Suzanne Harris
In-Kindness Award
  • Alameda County District 3
  • Andrea & Chuck Carlise
  • Anne & James Gooch
  • Castaway Creative
  • DawnMarie Kotsonis, The Gavel Girl
  • Felicia Vargas
  • Lilac Dress Boutique
  • MVT Productions
  • Rudy Hobson
  • Spinning Bones
  • The Thompson Family Foundation
  • Trabocco
Kaye Van Valkenberg Exemplary Service Award
  • Dee Keltner
  • Destiny Sandoval
  • Donalynne Fuller
  • Jennifer Williams
  • Julie Vu
  • Kristin Welch
  • Luzanne Engh
Dr. Edith Meyers Center Time & Talent Award
  • Cindy Silva
  • Ethan Gonzalez
  • Kathy Jones
  • Lynn Perata
  • Roxanne Le Blanc
  • Tommie Anderson
CEO’s Extra Mile Staff Award
  • Alicia Cooper
Board Service Gratitude Award
  • Alexandra Parma
  • Amy Patick
  • Andrea Carlise
  • Claudia Page
Thank you to our board members, staff, volunteers, donors, parents, and community partners for making Girls Inc. of the Island City a special place for the girls of Alameda!